How To Enable Automatic Twitter Social Share in Vanilla
If you already have Vanilla connected to Twitter, you will see information in your Consumer Key and Consumer Secret sections.
By default, when you create a Social Connect for Twitter, you would have created this connection with Read Only Permissions. To enable automatic Social Share, you need to enable “Read & Write” permissions. To do so, log into the Twitter account where you made the original social connect app. You can find your current apps here. If you forget what account you used or see no apps, you can create a new one here.
Once on the app page, select the appropriate app and look for the Permissions tab:
Once you are in the permissions tab, you will change the settings to be “Read and Write”
Once you update the settings, you will need to regenerate the keys your community uses for Twitter access. You can simply do this by going to the “Keys and Access Tokens” tab.
You will now need to replace the current Consumer Key and Consumer Secret in your Vanilla Twitter Connect section.
Make sure not to add any extra spaces if you cut and paste. Once you click save, you can now test it out and spread the word to your community.
For your Community Members
A community member can edit their profile and connect Twitter in their Social Tab.
When they click “connect” next to Twitter, they will be shown this permission screen.
Once they give permission to you and Twitter, when they create a discussion or make a comment, community members will now have a Twitter button.
Checking the automatic social share button will post the content to your community and their Twitter stream at the same time:
That’s it! Now it’s very easy for your community to share content to Twitter. Combining this with Twitter social login really reduces friction for users to join your community and viralize content.